How We Deal With Gravity by Ginger Scott

 ‘All I can do is smile, and meekly, at that. “I’m sorry.” That’s what I’m saying with that smile. That I’m sorry my son has autism, and that I don’t know how to hide it from you.’

Image

Rating: 4/5 

I really enjoyed this story, and was unable to put it down, completing in within the day. With a sister who has autism, and looking after a little boy with aspergers, this story rang true and personal on many accounts. The opening scene of Avery in a supermarket, whilst Max was screaming is a scene that has happened many a time,  both whilst I’ve been a by-stander to my sister and in charge of the little boy. I could really empathise with her, apologising that he was making a scene, the embarrassment of their stairs and the hopelessness of what you can do to calm them down.

How we deal with gravity introduces us to Avery Abbott. When Avery’s son, Max, was diagnosed with autism, Avery’s life took a dramatic turn. Her husband left her, her dreams were put on hold, and Max became her sole priority. Although she has the support of her father, and her best friend Clare, Avery is obviously stressed by Max’s outbursts and trying to juggle him, work and studying. When Mason, a friend from high school, returns to town to stay with them after his band has been dropped by the record company, her life becomes even more stressful. How will Max deal with a stranger in their house, and how will she deal with the person who is unaware that he broke her heart being in the same house as her?

This story was lovely, it was love story of both romantic love, and parental love. It could have been unrealistic, but it was very honest and true of a parent’s feeling of coping with a child with autism. As for the love story, which it is, I disliked Mason at first. I personally cannot stand the sterotypical men that are in books, that are rugged, handsome, macho and essentially jerks. But he was sweet, and was really good with Max and helping in the difficult situations – the hairdressers in particularly.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book, and would definitely recommend it.

I received an ARC of this from Ginger Scott, on Netgallery, in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

