God is an Astronaut by Alyson Foster

God Is an Astronaut

Rating: 2/5 (at a push)

I had to physically force myself to finish this book. I hated the writing style, the continuous spelling errors infuriated me, and I found the story line uneventful.

A book formed of a series of e-mails between Jess and a colleague on sabbatical. Jessica Frobisher is a botany professor at a university in Michigan. Her husband, Liam, works for a space tourism company called Spaceco, which has begun sending members of the public into space. When disaster strikes, and a mission goes badly wrong, resulting in the members of crew dying, including a pregnant lady. With the media swarming her house, reports on the news, and a person documenting their lives for a film, Jess attempts to keep “down to earth” by building a greenhouse in her garden. But nothing she does can prevent her life spiralling out of control.

The entire book is composed of e-mails from Jess to her colleague, Arthur. However, we only get Jess’s side of the emails, leaving us to guess what Arthur said based on her responses and the e-mail titles. I personally disliked this style, although I did get used to it as it went through. We got to know Jess well, through her brutal honesty. However, I still found her quite a flat character. She spoke a lot about mundane things, and constantly went on about her gardening. This made the story very slow, and I found it very dull. The main thing I disliked about the e-mails were the constant spelling errors. Now I know that we all make error when typing e-mails, and these add to the authenticity of it, but for me, when I read a book, I don’t want to keep having to re-read a sentence, guessing words to try and make it make sense.

Personally, I wouldn’t recommend this book.

With thanks to Bloomsbury on Netgalley for providing a digital ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

