August Haul

View WP_20140815_002.jpg in slide show

I don’t tend to read for pleasure while I’m at Uni as textbooks drain the fun out of reading for me. So, when I come home during the holidays I usually go on reading sprees. This summer I have definitely made the use of my library card, to the point where I think I may have a problem! Every time I return a book, I end up taking two more out.

This is my August Haul (so far). On the left are books I have bought, and on the right are the books from the library.

The are as follows:

Bought:

The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett – one of the few that I’m missing in the series.

How To Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell  – I HAD to buy this after watching the film! I love Toothless so much, my friends bought my a piece of fanart for my birthday!Photo: Finally got my pictures framed!

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell – Meant to be a very good YA book, I had to buy this!

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – I bought this at the same time as the other one. This one isn’t meant to be as good, so I read it first (review to come, at some point!) and actually enjoyed it! So I have high hopes for Eleanor and Park!

The Vampire Diaries 1 + 2 by L.J.Smith – I’m hoping that they are better than the TV Series…

One Plus One by Jojo Moyes – It was half price, and after reading Me Before You, I just couldn’t resist.

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell – This is meant to be a brilliant book, and has been on my TBR list for a while.

Library

Mayhem by Sarahg Pinborough – Victorian London, and Jack the Ripper murders. Cannot resist!

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer – This has been catching my eye for a while, and the blurb is so abrupt is makes me giggle:

‘I’ll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name is Simon. I think you’re going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he’ll be dead. And he was never the same after that.’

The Vanishing Act by Mette Jakobsen – Honestly, this was a bit of a random pick up. I’ve never heard of it before, but it seem interesting, so we shall see.

You’re Mine Now by Hans Koppel – I do enjoy a good crime novel every now and again. FIngers crossed this one is good!

We Used to be Kings by Stewart Foster – I picked this up a while ago, and put it back because it was a hard back book and too heavy to carry at the time. And I have been searching for it since. Luckily I found it today, and it came straight home with me.

Panic by Lauren Oliver – This seems to have mixed reviews, and the blurb sounds a lot like The Hungers Games. Hopefully it will be completely different.

The First Phone Call From Heaven by Mitch Albom – My boyfriend picked this up for me, saying it “sounds like a you sort of book”, so I’m going to take his word for it and pray that it is.

Some Kind of Fairy Tale by Graham Joyce – I kept picking this up in Waterstones, because the cover is so pretty.

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter – Alice in Wonderland is one of my all time favourite books, and i own some very gorgeous copies of it (below). I like zombies, and the original is weird enough as it is, so this could be interesting!

View WP_20130721_008.jpg in slide show

The Lascar’s Dagger by Glenda Larke – I’ve wanted to read one of her books for a while, and found this newish one in the library. I started it, and just couldn’t get into it. I’m going to give it a little bit of time, and we shall see!

Have you read any of these?

Which ones are good, and where would you recommend I begin?

2 thoughts on “August Haul

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Books That Have Been On Your TBR List From Before You Started Blogging That You STILL Haven’t Read Yet | Tumbling into Wonderland

Leave a Reply

