Top Ten Tuesday – Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

top ten tuesday

I haven’t done one of these in a very long time. My days are a little muddled up, and I keep going to complete it on Sundays or Wednesdays. This week, I have the day right! Whay!

So, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week is a different Top Ten, and this week is… “Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read”

1, Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte. I have attempted this book at least 5 times now, and still cannot get past chapter 12! Probably doesn’t help that I keep getting Kate Bush stuck in my head every time I read it.

2. Game Of Thrones – George R R Martin. These are amazing books, there is no denying that. But, there are so many characters! I read the first book before the TV series was aired, and all the characters became a muddle in my head. I started the second book after the show, and found this really helped as I could put a face to the many names (but the show meant spoilers!)

3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – J.K.Rowling. I don’t think this really needs much explaining. I adored Harry Potter (I still do) and grew up reading the books, this book meant it was the end. And I am still not quite ready for that.

4. The Heart Of Darkness – Joseph Conrad. I hated this book. Hated, Hated, Hated it. It is so short but took me ages to get through as I found it so dull and descriptive.

5. Good Night Mr Tom – Michelle Magorian. Have you read this book? Go read this book! There are parts of this book that stick with me, even now. Especially him sitting cuddling his baby sister.

6. Before I Go to Sleep – S J Watson. This book was so predictable, it was painful.

7. Lord of the Rings – J. R. R. Tolkein. Although I enjoyed the story, I found his writing style very hard to read.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

    • I can imagine GOT made a lot of people’s lists! I hope it doesn’t put anyone off reading it though.
      I will definitely have a look at your TTT 🙂

    • It was an interesting book, and the idea was interesting. I just found it very predictable. I think they’ve just made it into a film too!

  1. Wuthering Heights is a difficult read. I probably never would have gotten all the way through it if I wasn’t assigned it in High School. I just. It’s not a love story. And that’s what everyone prepped me for. Cathy is miserable. Heathcliff gets the shaft always. And the narrator is not the best ever. I felt cheated, I suppose.

    And I’ve only gotten halfway through Lord of the Rings. I stopped in the middle of Two Towers because I couldn’t handle Tolkein’s writing. It’s one of the few times I’ll say I prefer the movies to the books. While there are lots of smaller things missing, I think the fantasy of it all, and honestly some of the streamlining to some extent, is wonderful. Those movies are amazing.

    Great list!
    Chelsea @ Books Turn Brains

    • Maybe it is one of those books that is better if you study it, rather than read it for pleasure? Like Shakespeare?
      I urge you to battle your way through Two Towers, because the third one is better! (If not, just watch the extended version of LOTR and pretend you have 😛 )

  2. I’ve tried to read Wuthering Heights multiple times. I haven’t gotten through it yet. (And now I’ve got that song stuck in my head, too: “Heathcliff! It’s me, Cathy, I’ve come home, let me in-a-your window…”

    Yes! I’ve read Goodnight Mister Tom. I’ve really enjoyed some of the author’s other books as well.

    • It’s so difficult! I keep having the same problem with A Tale of Two Cities, too!
      Are there any of her other books that are particularly good?

Leave a Reply

