Top Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

top ten tuesday

So, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week is a different Top Ten, and this week is… “Top Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit”

This is quite tricky. Although I would love to go to many of the places my favourite books are set, I would most definitely die.

1. Hogwarts – Seriously, who wouldn’t want to go to Hogwarts?! And the birlliant thing is that there are now attractions linked to it. I went to the Harry Potter Studio Tour for my birthday last year, and I have my heart set on going to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter theme park.

2. Hampton Court Palace – I don’t read much historical fiction, but I love everything to do with the Tudors. This was one of the first trips I did when I moved to London.(They have actors! The Henry VIII is terrifying! And he makes you bow to him!)

3. Wonderland – Yet another obsession of mine! I would love to hop down the rabbit hole and see what I would find.

4. Victorian London – So many amazing books are set around Victorian London, one of my favourites being Sherlock Holmes. If you are in London, take a trip to Baker Street, and go to the Sherlock Holmes Museum! It is truely spectacular in there! (Be warned, Sherlock is filmed a few streets down. Google ‘Speedy’s Cafe’ to get there)

5. The Shire – One of my goals is to save enough money, and go to The Shire. It just looks so quaint, and beautiful.

6. The University in Patrick Rothfuss’s Name of the Wind – Especially the library!  No naked flames!

7. Willywonka’s Chocolate Factory – How magical would that be! I’m pretty sure I would be Augustus Gloop, swimming in the chocolate.

8. Neverland – It would be a great adventure.

Where would you like to visit? 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

  1. I need to get to London so I can see the Holmes museum. I am so in love with that city and I’ve never once set foot on its soil. Most of my favourite…everything comes from London. Plus, there’s a Neverwhere bench in London somewhere. And a replica of the TARDIS.

    I don’t know if I could hack Hogwarts. Especially after the Battle of Hogwarts? But maybe Hogsmeade? And definitely that lolly shop!

    • Do you live near? If you come down by train, log onto national rail and you can get 2 for 1 entry into most of the big attractions with the ticket (need to be printed out before hand, so plan ahead!). If you are a student, get to Matilda the Musical really early, and they hold 16 £5 tickets aside for 16-25 year olds! London is amaaaaazing!

      • No 😦 but all of that sounds AMAZING!
        I’m actually Aussie. One day I’ll get to London. One day…

        Have you seen the Matilda musical? It’s playing over here and I’m tossing up whether I should go! I loved the book so much…

      • Ah, that is quite far!
        YES! I have seen it twice, and it is BRILLIANT! Definitely in my top three. Go see it!

Leave a Reply

