Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms, #3)

Rating: 4/5

Book three in the Falling Kingdom series

Synopsis (Goodreads)

The stakes have never been higher as three teams push forward on a race to find the Kindred, the four elemental crystals possessing ancient all-powerful magic, first:

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred – the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic…

• THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.

• THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia’s overpowering magic – all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.

• THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia’s powers to unveil the Kindred.

The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica… but fate can be fickle when magic is involved.

My Thoughts

Secrets, twists, deceits and hidden motives!

I have loved this series so far, with it popping up numerous times in my Top Ten’s.

There are so many things I love about this series, which have been continued and added to by this book. I personally love it when books do different chapters based on different characters points of view. This has been done throughout the whole series, focusing on the main characters from the different groups – we mainly have chapters from Magnus, Cleo and Jonas. I found that these have been done really well to develop both the plot and the characters.

This is the third book in the series, and the books before it really do need to be read for the book to make sense. I read through the book really quickly, and when I finished I was disappointed. Not because of the book, but because it was over and I know I’ll have to wait another year (disappointing, because I stupidly didn’t do my research and thought it was only a trilogy!) Upon reflection I realised how good this book was, quite possibly the best in the series so far. I really cannot say anything without giving away spoilers, but the last 100 pages will make you incredibly happy and angry at the same time. It is full of twists that I honestly did not see coming. These were so good that I want to write all about them, but I can’t without completely ruining the book for everyone.

The only reason the book didn’t get 5 stars was because of a few characters I disliked. Meaning Lucia. I really liked her in previous books, and within this one I found her rather dull. Her relationship with Alexi really frustrated me (once again, I can’t say why without ruining the ending).

If you love YA or fantasy…. If you like reading, read this series.

10 thoughts on “Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught Fantasy | Tumbling into Wonderland

  2. Pingback: Blog Awards: Sisterhood of the World Bloggers | Tumbling into Wonderland

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Best Books I Read in 2015 | Tumbling into Wonderland

  4. Pingback: 2015 – Reading Challenge | Tumbling into Wonderland

  5. Pingback: Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes | Tumbling into Wonderland

  6. Pingback: Top Ten ALL TIME Favorite Fantasy Books | Tumbling into Wonderland

  7. Pingback: Top Ten All Time Favourite Fantasy Books | Tumbling into Wonderland

  8. Pingback: Crystal Storm (Falling Kingdoms #5) by Morgan Rhodes | Tumbling into Wonderland

  9. Pingback: A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

  10. Pingback: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

Leave a Reply

