Demon Dentist by David Walliams

Demon Dentist

Rating: 4/5

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Darkness had come to the town. Strange things were happening in the dead of night. Children would put a tooth under their pillow for the tooth fairy, but in the morning they would wake up to find… a dead slug; a live spider; hundreds of earwigs creeping and crawling beneath their pillow.

Evil was at work. But who or what was behind it…?

My Thoughts

I recently did my placement in a year four class and nearly every child was reading, or had read, a David Walliams book. Not wanting to be left behind I bought Demon Dentist and Gangsta Granny… When picking this book up, I didn’t expect to go on an emotional journey. I thought I was going to spend the entire book laughing, not crying!

When I think of David Walliams, I think of his comedy. So, when I picked up his book, I assumed that it would be hilarious. But you know what they say about assuming… What I hadn’t been told by anyone are the heart wrenching characters Walliams creates. Within this book, the main protagonist is a little boy called Alfie. His mother died giving birth to him. His dad is in a wheel chair because he was a coal miner, and the years of going into the pits have taken the toll on his lungs, and his health has been getting progressively worse. Alfie wears scraggy school clothes and gets bullied. On top of this, Alfie hasn’t been to the dentist in six years and has very rotten teeth.

Despite the sadness of Alfie’s position, the plot itself is very funny and enjoyable, sending Alfie on adventures to find the truth about the new dentist in town. The plot is not at all realistic, but this is what makes it so fun and unpredictable. I found myself audibly laughing out loud on more than one occasion.

The books look scary because they are big, but are relatively easy to read. I would definitely recommend this to older children, and adults, to read. Although, I would warn people to check the content before giving it to certain children as it could be quite upsetting for some children (children in similar situations, or who get scared easily).

2 thoughts on “Demon Dentist by David Walliams

  1. Pingback: Top Ten New To Me Authors 2015 | Tumbling into Wonderland

  2. Pingback: 2015 – Reading Challenge | Tumbling into Wonderland

Leave a Reply

