The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

The Invasion of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling, #2)

My Rating: 3/5

Book Two of The Queen of the Tearling series.

ARC recieved from Random House Publishers in exchange for a honest review.

Synopsis (Goodreads)

With each passing day, Kelsea Glynn is growing into her new responsibilities as Queen of the Tearling. By stopping the shipments of slaves to the neighboring kingdom of Mortmesne, she crossed the Red Queen, a brutal ruler whose power derives from dark magic, who is sending her fearsome army into the Tearling to take what is hers. And nothing can stop the invasion.

But as the Mort army draws ever closer, Kelsea develops a mysterious connection to a time before the Crossing, and she finds herself relying on a strange and possibly dangerous ally: a woman named Lily, fighting for her life in a world where being female can feel like a crime. The fate of the Tearling —and that of Kelsea’s own soul—may rest with Lily and her story, but Kelsea may not have enough time to find out.

My Thoughts

Before I begin, I feel a warning should be issued that the book does include rape, sexual assault.harassment and self-harming.

I had been meaning to read the first book, The Queen of the Tearling, for a while after hearing many positive things. When I found it in the library, it was a must! For some reason or another, I never did a review, but I did manage to get an ARC of the next book. Of course I began reading straight away!

One of the things that confused me within the first book was the world – being underdeveloped, it seemed as if it was set in medieval times, however, the date was in the future. This was further explained within this book. As Kelsea begins having visions, we see life pre-Crossing through the life of Lily. Although her story may not be as interesting as Kelsea’s, I kept wanting to find out more about her life, as it was so  heartbreaking. It was interesting to see what life was like before the pre-Crossing, and to see what triggered the drastic change of life.

I didn’t particularly like Kelsea in the first book, and that didn’t change in this one. Within the first book, Kelsea’s looks were very plain, with the author putting a huge amount of emphasis on the point that you don’t need to be beautiful to be the heroine or a queen. Those pages may as well be ripped straight out of the book now, because it was all scrapped within this book. As her powers become stronger, Kelsea gets more beautiful and thinner. Although stating that she doesn’t want to be obsessed with her looks like her mother, she is obsessed at looking at the picture of her mother and her beauty.

When it came to this book, I think I preferred reading the other people’s stories other than Kelsea’s. I enjoyed reading about Lily and her life pre-crossing, and I really like Father Tyler and his conflict of loyalty. I also found the Holy Father’s story line very interesting; what a sick and twisted man! Many of the stories were left hanging, or are building up to something in the next story.

I would suggest that if you didn’t like the first book, then I wouldn’t read this one. Despite my annoyance at Kelsea, I think I will read the next book in the hope (and assumption) that something big and great will happen in the next book.

3 thoughts on “The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

  1. Pingback: Top Ten New To Me Authors 2015 | Tumbling into Wonderland

  2. Pingback: 2015 – Reading Challenge | Tumbling into Wonderland

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half Of The Year | Tumbling into Wonderland

Leave a Reply

