The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson

The Golden Braid (Hagenheim #6)

 

My Rating: 4/5

Provided by NetGallery in exchange for an honest review.

Synopisis (Goodreads)

The one who needs rescuing isn’t always the one in the tower.

Rapunzel can throw a knife better than any man around. And her skills as an artist rival those of any artist she’s met. But for a woman in medieval times, the one skill she most desires is the hardest one to obtain: the ability to read.

After yet another young man asks for Rapunzel’s hand in marriage, Mother decides they need to move once again, but this time to a larger city. Rapunzel’s heart soars—surely there she can fulfill her dream. But Mother won’t let her close to a man. She claims that no man can be trusted.

After being rescued by a knight on the road to the city, and in turn rescuing him farther down the road, Rapunzel’s opportunity arrives at last. This knight, Sir Gerek, agrees to educate Rapunzel in order to pay back his debt. She just has to put up with his arrogant nature and single-minded focus on riches and prestige.

But this Rapunzel story is unlike any other and the mystery that she uncovers will change everything—except her happily ever after.

My Thoughts

Although Goodreads states that this is book six in the Hagenheim series, I read it as a stand alone book and was able to follow it without any confusion.

I really enjoy the re-telling of fairy tales, and with Rapunzel being one of my favourites I had to request this book as soon as I saw it.

I really enjoyed the book, it contained all the main parts of the original fairy tale, with slight twists – which I love. The book was fast paced with a sweet, slow, but predictable romance.

As a character, I liked Rapunzel, she was sweet with a thirst for knowledge. However, I was a bit annoyed that the blurb stated “the one who needs rescuing isn’t always the one in the tower” and other parts suggested that she was skilled at combat. Although I liked her, I was expecting her to be more kick ass, almost more like Celaena from Throne of Glass, than she was.

I really liked Mother Gothel – based on the original everyone knows that she is meant to be the baddie, but until about halfway through it was very difficult to determine whether she was like the original, or just overprotective.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book and would recommend it to people who like fairy tale retellings.

Leave a Reply

