Happily Ever After (The Selection) by Kiera Cass

Happily Ever After (The Selection, #0.4, 0.5, 2.5, 2.6)

This is a companion for the Selection series, containing novella’s from different people’s perspectives.

My reviews for the rest of the series: The Selection, The Elite, The One.

My Rating: 4/5

Synopsis (Goodreads)

The contents of Happily Ever After are as follows:

-The Prince (with the two bonus chapters), Maxon’s novella
-The Guard, Aspen’s novella
-The Queen, Amberly’s novella
-The Favorite, Marlee’s novella
-Three scenes from Celeste’s POV
-Lucy’s scene (bonus scene from The One)
-The bonus epilogue
-Where are they now?
-A map
-Various illustrations

My Thoughts

This book is a compilation of the novellas and bonus scenes from The Selection series – all the novella’s in this book take place before The Heir. Therefore, I would suggest reading this after completing The One, and not reading it if you haven’t read any of the books as it will contain a lot of spoilers.

The Selection series is my guilty pleasure. It was not the best book ever written, nor was it unique or intellectually stimulating, but my God I just could not put them down. I tried to hold off buy this book but I inevitably caved.

It was really nice to return to the selection, and see the events from different perspectives.

The Queen – This is a prequel to The Selection, featuring King Clarkson and Queen Amberly within their selection process. I get the feeling that most people, me included, didn’t like King Clarkson within The Selection, so I was interested to see how he would be portrayed as a young prince through Amberly’s eyes. It was definitely one of the more interesting novella’s in the book as it was scenes that we had not seen before.

The Prince – This was the first 1/3 of The Selection from Maxon’s point of view. It was interesting to see all the other contestants from his eyes and to see his relationship with both the contestants and his parents.

The Guard – This novella was written from Aspen’s point of view. It has been a few weeks since I read this book, and this is one of the only novellas within the book that I cannot remember. I was never overly fussed with Aspen which is probably why it did not jump out at me.

The Favourite – This novella was from Marlee’s point of view, showing her falling in love with Carter and their punishment.

Celeste –  These were some of the better scenes in the book. It was really interesting to see her thought process and why she portrayed herself the way she did.

The Maid – Having not particularly liked Aspen, I wasn’t overly fussed with Lucy either. This was interesting to see how their relationship developed, which you couldn’t see throughout the Selection.

Where are they now – I personally don’t like being told where people are now, as I like the door being open to my own interpretation. However, I can see why many other fans would love this section.

4 thoughts on “Happily Ever After (The Selection) by Kiera Cass

  1. Pingback: Quarter Quell – 3 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland

  2. Pingback: Second Quarter Quell – 6 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland

  3. Pingback: Third Quarter Quell – 9 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland

  4. Pingback: Final Quarter Quell 2016 | Tumbling into Wonderland

Leave a Reply

