This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

This Raging Light

My rating : 2/5

Synopsis (Goodreads)

How is it that you suddenly notice a person? How is it that one day Digby was my best friend’s admittedly cute twin brother, and then the next he stole air, gave jitters, twisted my insides up?

Lucille has bigger problems than falling for her best friend’s unavailable brother. Her mom has gone, leaving her to look after her sister, Wren. With bills mounting up and appearances to keep, Lucille is raging against her life but holding it together – just.

A stunning debut to devour in one sitting, Laure captures completely the agony and ecstasy of first love.

My Thoughts

I wasn’t overly impressed with this book. I went in thinking it was going to amazing and was left disappointed and confused.

Seventeen-year old Lucille is the daughter of the man who snapped and attacked her mother, before leaving. Now, her mother has left too, leaving her to look after her little sister Wren. You straight away begin to sympathise fore Lucille and her situation. She is strong and adaptable, she cares for her sister and does everything she can to stop her sister being taken by social services.

That part was brilliant and heartbreaking. If it was solely about that, it would be a solid 4 if not 5 star. However, then we get the romance side, and that’s where it starts getting weird. We had a romance that started off with a requited childhood crush, of her best friend’s twin brother, that turns into something more. The relationship was strange, and whenever Digby appeared the language got really weird.

“Your yard looks nice,” he says. “So they tell me,” I say. Touch me. Kiss me. I’m yours. I know he won’t, though. He would not cheat. I like his shoes. Vans. His long feet.

His hand is still resting on my foot. I am a giant foot, his hand a magical giant hand.

My eyes are open and staring at his closed lids, and then they snap open and we are so close that he is a blurry Cyclops. I am sucked into his single eye.

I want to pull my skin off my body so I can crawl into in without the eyeholes and disappear into myself, never to emerge again.

These were just some of the strange quotes that I found throughout the book. There were others. Lots more.

In addition to the strange romance and weird language, about 200 pages in, it gets even more “dramatic”. Girlfriends become confrontational (I’m not surprised!) and friends become distant and moody for no reasons and people get put into coma’s.

I really wouldn’t recommend this book other than for you to look out for any more weird quotes.

4 thoughts on “This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

  1. Pingback: Quarter Quell – 3 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland

  2. Pingback: Second Quarter Quell – 6 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland

  3. Pingback: Third Quarter Quell – 9 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland

  4. Pingback: Final Quarter Quell 2016 | Tumbling into Wonderland

Leave a Reply

