Like the Red Sky At Morning (Forget Me Not #2) by Brielle Skye

Like the Red Sky At Morning (Forget Me Not #2)

Title: Like the Red Sky at Morning

Author: Brielle Skye

Genre: Romance, Contemporary Romance.

Published: October 27th 2015 by Gypsy Pen Publishing

Book two of the Forget Me Not series. Book one review: Solitude of a Birdcage

Synopsis (Goodreads)

The story of Maxie and Isaac continues in the sequel to SOLITUDE OF A BIRDCAGE as the two lovers learn that some memories can’t be erased, and the past is never far behind.

She had a choice, and she chose him, only to be left guilt-ridden and heartbroken. Now Maxie Shannen is determined to move on from the past she shared with Isaac Cole—especially since he still doesn’t remember it.

Seeking comfort in a new job, dreams of becoming a chef, and a scheme that may be the very escape she needs, Maxie counts down the days until she’s out of the apartment she shares with Van and Isaac for good. But as she draws closer to her goals, she finds herself facing a new temptation as intoxicating—and as forbidden—as the last.

Torn between the past and the future, truth and pretense, a new love and the old, Maxie will once again be forced to make a decision that will leave her with everything she’s ever wanted, or nothing at all.

My Thoughts

As soon as I put down the first book, I wanted to read this one. After a long, long wait I finally got it. I enjoyed this book, not quite as much as the first book, but I still found it very very good. I read the book a few months ago, so my memory is a little hazy.

The first book ended with Isaac and Van still together, with Isaac not remembering and Van planning a wedding. Whist Maxie is pining for Isaac but deciding she needs to move on. Within this book Maxie is dating other guys but still thinking about Isaac.

I personally started to find Maxie a little boring in this book as, from what I can recall, she was pining a lot and I don’t feel she really change much. She began to stand up for herself, which was brilliant, but was still making infuriating choices.

What I found really interesting was Isaac beginning to remember the truth, and seeing all of Van’s lies unravel. We got to see more of Van’s character, and her mother, who I felt both became more dis-likable. We also got to see Maxie’s dad which was interesting and entertaining.

The ending was as I predicted, and hoped,  so very pleasing. I am a little confused as to how there can be a third book? But I will most likely be reading it!

My Rating

4-stars

3 thoughts on “Like the Red Sky At Morning (Forget Me Not #2) by Brielle Skye

  1. Pingback: Second Quarter Quell – 6 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland

  2. Pingback: Third Quarter Quell – 9 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland

  3. Pingback: Final Quarter Quell 2016 | Tumbling into Wonderland

Leave a Reply

