Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

hp

This review will contain spoilers – a note will be stated before they will appear.

I originally was going to hold off reading this until I saw the play but I just couldn’t wait 30 days. I managed 2. I lack self control.

 I read the play in one sitting and then had to sleep on it to give me time to contemplate what I thought. This was a really tricky one. There were parts I loved and there were parts where I wanted to throw the book and shout “NO! THAT’S NOT RIGHT!” I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t deal well with final goodbyes, if you look at my ratings for the last book, in any series, they’re usually lower than the rest, not necessarily because they are bad but I think it’s because I don’t want it to end. And this book really is the end .

Before reading this book I feel it is important to know that this is advertised as the eighth story in the Harry Potter series but that is in many ways misleading. Although Harry, Ron, Hermione and Malfoy appear and have roles in the play, this book is based around their children Albus, Scorpius and Rose. Although stated on the front of the book, it is important to remember that it is a play. This is so important to remember as you read as scripts are designed to be seen preformed rather than read – it won’t contain as much character development or emotion as will be portrayed on stage.

 Spoilers from this point onward.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child centers on Harry’s second son, Albus. Albus struggles with the weight of the family legacy and has a struggling relationship with Harry. Both with their own family problems and being outcasts at school, Albus makes unlikely friends with Scorpius Malfoy. Firm friends, they decide to try and do something good. They decide to use a Time Turner to go back in time to save Cedric Diggory to help make his dad, Amos Diggory, happy.

I really liked that it started with the epilogue at the end of Deathly Hallows, to me it really felt like coming home. As Albus was nervous about going through the barrier to get to platform 9 3/4, I loved that Harry echoed the advice that Molly first gave him.

After we get the train and the sorting ceremony, the first four years went by really quickly, which saddened me. Albus’ coldness towards Harry really made me dislike him. Although I imagine him to have problems, I find it hard to believe that Harry would have been that bad of a father with all the great father figures he had in his life. We could see that Albus was drifting away from his family but I feel that if more focus was put onto the first few years, and his negative experiences at Hogwarts, maybe this would help me to understand why – possibly this will be shown in the play?

I adored Albus and Scorpius’ friendship and can imagine a lot of people are totally shipping that. Scorpius was a breath of fresh air and was completely different to what I expected him to be. I loved seeing his relationship with both Albus and Draco.

We saw lots of our favourites characters from Hogwarts throughout the play, including McGonagall, Dumbledore, Hagrid, Draco, Lily and James as well as finding out more about the children. McGonagall was just as sharp and witty as she is in the books. I know lots of people disliked Hermione and Ron but I personally loved them. I love that they showed how in love they were. Also, Hermione is just wonder woman is not only Minister of Magic but a super wife. I was a little bit more torn with Ron, he didn’t seem such a big par, and was a bumbling fool a lot of the time, but I love that he was still humorous – he reminded me of Arthur. As for Harry, I was really shocked, he was not how I expected him to be. I would never have expected him to speak to Albus or McGonagall in that way, even when cross. However, as much as I loved seeing them, I would have liked to see Molly and Arthur and to have heard about Teddy – not even a mention!

I went into the book having absolutely no idea what was going to happen, all I knew was the blurb. Although I enjoyed that it was about the children and their adventures I was a deflated by the plot. Firstly, although I like the idea that Albus wants to go back and save someone from the past, I found them finding not one but two saved time turners unlikely and a massive cop out. Secondly. Bellatrix? What? When? Unlikely. Didn’t like it.

I’m going to see the play at the end of the month and despite my torn feelings about reading the script, I still have high hopes for the play. Based on the stage directions from the play, I cannot wait to see the settings and magic. I also feel that the characters will be a lot more fleshed out when acted out and am hoping that we will see more character development and emotions.

With a sad heart, I have decided to give this

three-stars

And now, I guess all that’s left to say is…

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Play -Palace Theater, London. | Tumbling into Wonderland

  2. Pingback: Summer Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland

  3. Pingback: Third Quarter Quell – 9 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland

  4. Pingback: Final Quarter Quell 2016 | Tumbling into Wonderland

Leave a Reply

