Confessions of an exhausted teacher.

Last year I really struggled to find time to read around work. I would get home and after reading stories and marking books, the last thing I wanted to do is read a book. Whereas this year, despite having a trickier class and a lot more work, I’ve managed to read a lot of books around work. But now I’m struggling to find the motivation to write the reviews! My plan for this new school year was to try and sort out a good work life balance. So far, I think it’s working. My boyfriend and I joined the gym, which means I get out of work at 4 at the latest on Friday to play tennis, and I’m limited to only doing work until 7 on week days and 2 on Sundays. Where possible I try not to bring anything home at all but it’s pretty much inevitable.

So, finally, after letting them build up for a while, the book reviews that are pending are…

The Beastly PiratesThey’re called The Beastly Pirates
and this fearsome ugly bunch
scour the seas for other pirates
they can gobble up for lunch.

Beware THE BEASTLY PIRATES – the scariest sailors on the seven seas.
They’re a cutlass-toting, pirate-eating bunch of renegades and the list of their dastardly deeds is endless. Dare you come to face to face with this motley crew?

WARNING: This is most certainly NOT a book for bedtime . . . unless you like your pirates with a bit more bite! Perfect for fans of Jonny Duddle.

 

Everything, EverythingMy disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

 

All the Bright PlacesTheodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

 

Love, Rosie
Best friends since forever, Rosie and Alex have shared their hopes, dreams – and firsts. But one awkward moment at eighteen, one missed opportunity, and life sends them hurtling in different directions. Although they stay in touch, misunderstandings, circumstances and sheer bad luck seem to be conspiring to keep them apart. Can they gamble everything – even their friendship – on true love?

 

 

 

When We CollidedWe are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…

Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.

Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.

Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.

Have you read any of these? 

Are any of them on your reading list? Or now on your reading list?

Leave a Reply

