When We Collided by Emery Lord

When We Collided

Title: When We Collided
Author: 
Emery Lord
Series: N/A
Publication:
5th April 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Children
Genre: YA


Synopsis (Goodreads)

We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…

Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.

Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.

Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.

My Thoughts

I picked this book up for two reasons.

  1. The front cover intrigued me.
  2. It was in one of the illumicrate boxes before I started ordering them.

I ended up feeling really conflicted by the end.

The book is about Jonah, a sweet, quiet, grieving boy who is trying to look after his family after the sudden death of his father, which leaves his mother bed ridden in mourning . It is also about Vivi, who is vibrant, spontaneous and completely gets on my nerves.

I really wanted to enjoy this book, it real and difficult issues such as dealing with grief, stress and mental illness, but I just found it infuriating. I adored Jonah, he was sweet, real and likable. Vivi on the other hand was meant to be different and unique but I just found her to be annoying and controlling. Every time I read a chapter with her perspective I found myself rolling my eyes. The romance was a dominating part of the book and as I disliked Vivi so much, I just didn’t feel the chemistry between the two characters. It felt almost like watching 5 year olds, where one says “you’re my boyfriend now” and the other says “uh, ok” and then the child pulls the other around forcing them to play and do the things they want to do.

When I met Jonah Daniels yesterday, there was a magical shift in the trajectory of my summer. He’s the ring to my Frodo, the wardrobe to my Lucy Pevensie. His presence in my life sets me on my journey, and I can feel it, a vital mission pulsing in my bones. Here is a boy who needs me.

Vivi didn’t ask permission to do things, she didn’t think about how it would affect others, she just did. And falling in love with Jonas was one of these.

I feel that this book had huge issues it wanted to share and develop with the audience but it was just over powered by the romance element. Looking at it from the mental illness perspective, it was far more interesting than any of the romance parts. It allowed us to see two different perspectives of it; someone living with it firsthand and someone living with it through a loved one.

Although there were incredibly infuriating parts of the book, I thought the ending was absolutely perfect.

My Rating

three-stars

 

4 thoughts on “When We Collided by Emery Lord

  1. Pingback: Third Quarter Quell – 9 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books I Would Like To Be Made Into A Movie. | Tumbling into Wonderland

  3. Pingback: Final Quarter Quell 2016 | Tumbling into Wonderland

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

Leave a Reply

