All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places

Title: All The Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Series: N/A
Publication: 6th January 2015.
Genre: YA, Fiction, Love and Romance.

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

My Thoughts

I’m trying to write this review about a month after completing it so I can confidently say that this was a good but forgettable book. I have found myself having to read numerous reviews to remind myself what the book was about.

As the blurb clearly states, this book is about depression and suicide. For some, this book will be world changing, enlightening and something they can clearly relate to. For others, it will be infuriating and possibly predictable..

I fall into the latter. As I was reading the book, I really couldn’t relate to the characters. They felt, to me, like the illness put into human form. There was nothing else about them other than the mental illness. Now, I can understand why the author has done this – they are important and increasingly common illnesses that people will encounter through their lifetime, whether it’s personally or in passing. I assume that she wanted to show how the illness can control you life and show that having a supportive network family and friends is important. However, I personally found the characters very 2D and didn’t grow to love them.

I did like the ending, it surprised me and was the only part that I found gripping.

I can understand why this book has got the hype it has but for me it was a lead balloon.

My rating

three-stars

3 thoughts on “All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

  1. Pingback: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016 | Tumbling into Wonderland

  2. Pingback: Final Quarter Quell 2016 | Tumbling into Wonderland

  3. Pingback: Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven | Tumbling into Wonderland

Leave a Reply

