Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

35fed-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Every week they post a new top ten list and invite everyone to share their answers. It’s a great way to learn more about the bloggers you follow and to find lots of new books. This week’s topic is “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016”

Emily’s New Authors

Neil Gaiman – I know, I know. About time, right? I read Stardust and I plan on reading American Gods next year. His writing style is definitely unique. I love the cleverness of his book, the humour twisted in with the seriousness, and the flow of his writing.

Jennifer Niven – I read All the Bright Places and I’m part way through Holding Up the Universe. I can’t say I’ve been overly impressed with either of these books.

John Kelly – This children’s author and illustrator came into our school to read us some of his books. I really enjoyed them, and his assembly was brilliant. My review of his books here.

Tsugumi Oba – I’ve started making my way through Death Note at the beginning of the year. I put it down but am fully intending to pick them back up again. I love that the series has finished, so I know that the end is in near sight (unlike Black Butler, which I love but 20 odd books is waaaay too expensive for me!)

Marie Ruthoski – Oh my gosh. If you like fantasy and you haven’t read or heard of The Winner’s Trilogy, them where have you been? I started these because people were going on about how good they are, and they weren’t wrong. Definitely pick them up. (Review of Book 1: Winner’s Curse)

Veronica Roth – I put off reading Divergent for ages because of the hype. I finally picked it up this year and was pleasantly pleased.

Robin LeFevers – I read Grave Mercy at the very beginning of the year. A convent of female assassins who are taught thousands of ways to kills people, using weapons, poisons and their “womanly charms”. This has now reminded me to order the second book.

Daz’s  New Authors

A.J. Smith – I read the Black Guard series earlier this year and really got into it. Full of a mixture of medieval and fantasy as well as shocking twists in the story!

Thomas Harris- Emily and I really got into watching the Hannibal tv series and from this I developed an interest in reading the Hannibal book series. Definitely worth a go!

Alex’s New Authors

John Gwynne – David Eddings by way of George R R Martin, Gwynne writes with a blend of what seem to be fantasy tropes, but twists them on their heads with almost callous brutality. You find yourself not wanting to get attached to characters for fear of their lives, but you just can’t help it. Book One (Malice) took a bit of work to get through, but Book Three (Ruin) was utterly incredible. Some twists come out of nowhere, some you may be able to guess, but the series should still hold some surprises.

Tom Holland – Tom Holland is a historian of phenomenal renown. If you are browsing a bookshop’s history section and you don’t see his name then you may as well stop. It’s also worth noting he does historical book review for the Times, so you had better believe his own stuff is up to standard. He writes with insight and engagement, bringing characters long dead back to life so vividly that he blurs he line between historian and necromancer. He writes with a consideration of as much evidence as he can provide in a work of popular fiction, and isn’t afraid to tackle controversial subjects (like the origins of Islam) while remaining objective. Highly recommended for history buffs.

 

Leave a Reply

