My 2017 Reading Challenges

Last year I set myself some challenges. I met some of them but not all.

The ones I didn’t complete are going to be rolled over to 2017

Continued targets:

  • To read my pre-ordered books.
  • To get above 70% on NetGallery
  • To complete The Sherlock Holmes Collection

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)If I Fall, If I DieThe Complete Sherlock Holmes

My new targets:

  • To read more pages in total than the 2016 total. To beat 2014 would be brilliant!
2016 – 15,715 pages (58 books)
2015 – 13,220 pages (49 books)
2014 – 17,002 pages (51 books)

I’ve decided not to set myself a number of books challenge as otherwise I feel guilty about adding children’s picture books and making it look like I’ve read more than I have – this is why I’ve set the pages challenge!

Grimm's Fairy StoriesThe DiabolicThe Graces (The Graces, #1)Nevernight (The Nevernight Chronicle, #1)

So far the books I intend on reading next yearbased on the books I intend to read for the Around the Year in 52 Books, are:

  • Rebel of the Sands Alwyn Hamilton (own)
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (own)
  • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens (own)
  • The Graces by  Laure Eve (own)
  • The Diabolic by S.J.Kincaid (own)
  • The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle (own)
  • Game of Thrones series by George R R Martin (own)
  • Nevernight by Jay Kristoff (own)
  • Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (own)
  • All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (own)
  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  • When God Was a Rabbit
  • The Last Falcon by Colleen Ruttan
  • Spirit of Thieves by Morgan Rhodes (own)
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (own)
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman (own)
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (own)
  • Good Omens by Terry Prattchet
  • The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
  • Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (own)
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore (own)
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas (own)
  • Hitman Anders and the Meaning of It All by Jonas Jonasson (own)
  • The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
  • Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel (own)
  • The God Of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
  • Nineteen Eighty-Four by Geroge Orwell
  • Happy by Derren Brown (own)
  • Vampire Academyby Richelle Mead (own)
  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
  • Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  • The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler (own)
  • Dracular by Bram Stoker (own)
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelly
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin  by Lionel Shriver (own)
  • Coraline by Neil Gaiman
  • It by Stephen King
  • The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan
  • Night Angel by Brent Weeks
  • The Reluctant Mage by Karen Miller
  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  • The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North (own)
  • A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  •  Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov (own)

What are your challenges?
Can you recommend me any books I’ll enjoy?
Which book on my list should I begin with?

Leave a Reply

