Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K.Rowling

harry-potter-re-read

Most people that I speak to say that this is their least favourite, but I think that really they’re think of the film. This book is definitely ways better than the film. It left out so many important and brilliant things, like Winky and the maze (I hold so much fury over how badly they did the maze in the films).

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)

My Favourite Bits

Fred and George creating new things for Weasleys’ Wizard Wheezes. I especially loved the Ton-Tongue Toffee they give to Dudley.

Fred and George winding Percy up. Again. Basically, I just forgot how much I love Fred and George in the whole series. Boy is this going to be hard later on.

Malfoy being turned into a ferret.

That the first task takes place on my birthday.

Dobby knitting Harry a pair of socks for Christmas.

‘Dobby is making them himself, sir!’ the elf said happily. ‘He is buying wool out of his wages, sir!’

The left sock was bright red, and had a pattern of broomsticks upon it; the right sock was green, with a pattern of Snitches.

The Weasleys turning up as Harry’s family support for the final task, Molly is such a babe, and Fleur eyeing up Bill.

The maze – as I said earlier they completely slaughtered this in the film. I love that the Blast-ended newts end up in the maze, and I especially love the sphinx.

 

Bits I Forgot About

How much Hedwig seems to hate Pigwidgeon.

The Weasleys using Flu Powder to get Harry for the Summer. Except the Dursleys covered up the fireplace so the entire family are stuck behind the wall.

Mad-Eye Moody using the Imperius curse on all the students as part of a lesson.

The Veela at the World Cup.

That they meet Sirius in Hogsmede.

 

My Favourite Quotes

‘Percy wouldn’t notice a joke if it danced naked in front of him wearing one of Dobby’s hats.’

 

‘Severus, please fetch me the strongest Truth Potion you possess, and then go down to the kitchens, and bring up the house elf called Winky. Minerva, kindly go down to Hagrid’s house, where you will find a large black dog sitting in the pumpkin patch. Take the dog to my office, tell him I will be with him shortly, then come back here.’

If either Snape or McGonagall found these instructions peculiar, they hid their confusion.

 

What are your favourite bits of the book?

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K.Rowling

  1. Pingback: Sunday Smiles #4 | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

  2. Pingback: First Quarter Quell 2017 – 3 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

Leave a Reply

