Illumicrate Unboxing #6

unboxing

Illumicrate is a bookish subscription box based in the UK. It contains at least one book and lots of other bookish delights. It is a quarterly box that arrives in February, Macoastersy, August and November.
teaThis is my third Illumicrate box. I have been delighted with the last two – I have used up all the tea from the August box and almost finished the yummy smelling candle from the November box. I also use my socks and trio coasters regularly.

This one is a little later than the owner expected but it was certainly worth the wait!

Spoilers ahead! Don’t read on if you haven’t opened yours yet…

February Box

 dsc_0073

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

I haven’t seen this before but it sounds interesting. I came with a lovely letter from the author, a signed bookplate and a bookmark.

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen, Liesl feels that her childhood dreams are slipping away. And when her sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. But with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

dsc_0074

Bare Necessities Pouch by Literacy Lifestyle Company – Exclusive

I was absolutely thrilled when I saw this! Look how gorgeous it is! It’s based on The Jungle Book, which I love. I’m definitely going to be looking at the company’s website for more beautiful work.

dsc_0075

Magic and Mischief Balm by Bookish Serendipity Co – Exclusive

This was the last thing I found in my box and it’s a real treat! It’s all-natural, handmade and fairy tale-inspired. It’s every so soft on my lips and smells great. I can’t quite put my finger on what it smells like but its a bit like coffee.

dsc_0076

A Darker Shade of Magnets by Her Bookish Things – Exclusive

These are quotes from A Gather of Shadows by V.E.Schwab. I haven’t read it but spookily it is a book that I was looking at yesterday.

dsc_0077

Newt Scamander Bookmark by Jane’s Tiny Things – Exclusive

I love this! I had no expectations for the film and ended up loving it. When I saw this I was so excited, it was instantly recognisable. Definitely a bookmark I’ll be using straight away.

dsc_0078

Extras: Following Orphelia Bookmark, Flame in the Mist sample by Renee Ahdieh, Gilded Cage postcard and and ARC of Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

I was so excited to see Red Sister! Two books!  It’s very chunky but sounds amazing – it reminds me a bit of Grave Mercy by Robin Lafevers.

“I was born for killing – the gods made me to ruin”

At the Convent of Sweet Mercy young girls are raised to be killers. In a few the old bloods show, gifting talents rarely seen since the tribes beached their ships on Abeth. Sweet Mercy hones its novices’ skills to deadly effect: it takes ten years to educate a Red Sister in the ways of blade and fist.

But even the mistresses of sword and shadow don’t truly understand what they have purchased when Nona Grey is brought to their halls as a bloodstained child of eight, falsely accused of murder: guilty of worse.

How brilliant does that sound! There’s also a sample from Flame in the Mist which I haven’t heard of before. I love getting these sample. There’s also an Orphelia book mark and a Guilded Cage post mark which I haven’t read but may do now.

dsc_0079

Have you bought anything from these suppliers?

Are you subscribed or going to subscribe to Illumicrate?

2 thoughts on “Illumicrate Unboxing #6

  1. Pingback: First Quarter Quell 2017 – 3 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

  2. Pingback: Illumicrate Unboxing – May 2017 | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

Leave a Reply

