Perfect by Cecelia Ahern

Perfect (Flawed, #2)

Title: Perfect
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Series: Flawed #2
Publication: 24th April 2017
Genre: Teens & Young Adult, Dystopian

ARC provided by Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review.

Around the Year in 52 Book Challenge – A book published in 2017

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Celestine North lives in a society that demands perfection. After she was branded Flawed by a morality court, Celestine’s life has completely fractured–all her freedoms gone.

Since Judge Crevan has declared her the number one threat to the public, she has been a ghost, on the run with Carrick–the only person she can trust.

But Celestine has a secret–one that could bring the entire Flawed system crumbling to the ground. A secret that has already caused countless people to go missing.

Judge Crevan is gaining the upper hand, and time is running out for Celestine. With tensions building, Celestine must make a choice: save just herself or to risk her life to save all Flawed people.

And, most important of all, can she prove that to be human in itself is to be Flawed?

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed Flawed. I loved the world and the story and although the world was slightly familiar, I loved the new take on it.

While I loved the story in the last book, finding it refreshingly different, I found this book boringly predictable. I had to put it down about 50% of the way through  I found myself strongly reminded of the Divergent series. I finally picked it up after about a month and could easily pick up the book from where I’d left off.

I felt like the original concept, of having a flawed society that brands their flawed, that I loved from the first book was gone. We all knew how it was going to end and it took us on a very long journey to get to there. Even what I assume was meant to be a shock I found predictable.

Oh and we can’t forge the love triangle – because all YA Dystopian books I seem to be reading at the moment have to have a love interest at least. I really feel that this book mainly disappointed me because of the love interests, although this wasn’t the only focus I do feel that it occurred in parts where it didn’t need to.

An OK sequel but not my favourite.

My Rating

3-stars

4 thoughts on “Perfect by Cecelia Ahern

    • If you enjoyed the first one then I would say read it. Judging by the ratings on Goodreads I’m definitely in a minority, most people seemed to really enjoy it 🙂 Let me know what you think!

      • Now you’re teasing me… ha ha ha. I’ll probably read it anyway – like I can say no to a book. I think I have a terrible reading addiction.My life is ranked: dog, books, husband… in that order. :/

  1. Pingback: First Quarter Quell 2017 – 3 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

Leave a Reply

