The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Great Gatsby

Title: The Great Gatsby
Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald
Series: N/A
Publication: April 1925
Genre: Modernist, Jazz Age.

Around the World in 52 Books Challenge–  A book with an unreliable narrator

Synopsis (Goodreads)

He was in love with the golden girl of a gilded era. He was Jay Gatsby, a self-made millionaire who gave wild and lavish parties attended by strangers.

“In his blue gardens men and girls came and went like moths among the whisperings and the champagne and the stars.”

She was Daisy Buchanan, a young rich beauty with bright eyes and a passionate mouth.

“High in a white palace, the King’s daughter, the Golden Girl.” Even her voice was “full of money.”

A great novel of a glittering era, of amazing richness and scope, this is the most dazzling fiction we possess of the Jazz Age’s reckless revels.

A fable of the Roaring Twenties that will survive as a legend.

My Thoughts

Great Gatsby is one of those books that has been read and studied time and time again, so I have little, if anything, new to add to the conversation. So I will keep this brief.

 I find with classics that I generally love them if I study them, or read them whilst talking to someone who is enthusiastic about them, but less impressed if I read them on my own. This was definitely the case with The Great Gatsby. I’ve heard from many people that this is their favourite book,. My boyfriend studied it for A-Level and enjoyed it. As I was reading it I was incredibly confused. I didn’t understand people’s enjoyment of it – nothing happened! Until the end. Even then I was so tired I missed the actual scene, even when I re-read it.

So, confused as to what I had evidently missed I did a good old Google search. From reading things like Spark notes, I picked up on some of the things while reading – like the motif of the car and the green light but missed subtitles like the weather and the eyes looking over them.

I’m not going to lie, when reading over people’s analysis’ of the book, like most well-read classics, I couldn’t help but think “where did they get this stuff”.  I’m pretty sure people have read into these things deeper than the author intended.

Anyway, if anyone would like to explain their love of the book to me, I would love to hear it. Otherwise, it is an easy and enjoyable read but I feel I would have enjoyed it more if I had studied it.

My Rating

3-stars

One thought on “The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

  1. Pingback: Second Quarter Quell 2017 – 3 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

Leave a Reply

