Top Ten UK Book Covers That Are Better Than The US’.

35fed-toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Every week they post a new top ten list and invite everyone to share their answers. This week’s topic is a cover freebie.

I see a lot of UK Vs US covers where either they’ve only chosen the best US covers, or where they’re torn. So, being a Brit, I have gone for “Top Ten UK Book Covers That Are Better Than The US’.”

UK on the left and US on the right.

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell – This is a book I haven’t read yet but I would be far more likely to pick u[ the UK edition. I really love the pink on the black.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff – How cool is that crow?

Image result for uk covers vs us covers

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – I literally picked this book up to read, before it got massively popular, for the cover alone.

Related imageImage result for me before you us cover

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – Ok, the UK on does look more 12+ to YA but it’s definitely more intriguing than the US one.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – These are very similar but I feel the colours work better on the UK version. That said, I definitely prefer the US version of Heir of Fire.

Image result for throne of glass by sarah j. maas ukImage result for throne of glass by sarah j. maas us

Graceling by Kristin Cashmore – This is one where I think people would be more torn but I prefer the lettering of the G’s on the UK version and I love the girl standing in shadow.

Image result for graceling ukImage result for graceling us

American Gods by Neil Gaiman – There’s also a gorgeous red cover with a silver tree on, I don’t know if you have that version in America? Out of the two below, I really like it when it has a dark background and a striking image infront in simple, but eye catching, colours like the one below.

Image result for american gods cover ukAmerican Gods by [Gaiman, Neil]

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – Dancing with death. What’s not to like?

Image result for cool uk book coversImage result for the book thief us

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss – I just think it’s an absolutely beautiful cover.

Image result for the name of the wind uk coverImage result for the name of the wind us cover

Which covers do you prefer?

Are there any other British covers you prefer to the American ones?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten UK Book Covers That Are Better Than The US’.

    • I’m going to re-read Graceling because it’s been so long. It’s on of the books I bought because of it’s cover. Of course I’ll check your list out 🙂

  1. I haven’t seen anyone do a comparison of US and UK covers for this week’s freebie so this was a lovely post to read! Most of the time I always like the UK covers a lot prettier than the US ones! And I totally agree with all of the ones you mentioned above 🙂
    Have you seen the UK edition of Strange the Dreamer? I think it is soooo gorgeous and definitely a lot prettier than the US edition! ❤

  2. Oooh, I’m very use to the US copy of The Book Thief; I’ve never seen the UK version, but I also really like it! I’m a fan of illustrations for book covers!

    • Is that UK covers in general or the UK covers I’ve selected? There’s no denying that there are definitely some prettier US covers out there 🙂

  3. Oh wow the UK cover of The Bone Clocks is gorgeous, I had no idea that one had different covers! I also really love the covers for Graceling and Nevernight! Great list! 🙂

  4. Pingback: May 2017 Monthly Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

Leave a Reply

