Dreamland by Sarah Dessen

Dreamland

Title: Dreamland
Author: Sarah Dessen
Series: N/A
Publication: 1st September 2000 by Puffin Books
Genre: YA,

Around the World in 52 Books Challenge– A book set in a fictional location

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Wake up, Caitlin

Ever since she started going out with Rogerson Biscoe, Caitlin seems to have fallen into a semiconscious dreamland where nothing is quite real. Rogerson is different from anyone Caitlin has ever known. He’s magnetic. He’s compelling. He’s dangerous. Being with him makes Caitlin forget about everything else–her missing sister, her withdrawn mother, her lackluster life. But what happens when being with Rogerson becomes a larger problem than being without him?

My Thoughts

Whoa, that was not what I was expecting. It was so much better.

I’ve been in a reading slump for a while, every book I’ve picked up I’ve struggled with reading more than 20 pages. Sarah Dessen is an author I can always rely on to pull me out of that slump. Usually her books are somewhat serious at times, with some serious themes weaved in but Dreamland took me completely by surprise. The story begins with Caitlin being left by her perfect older sister who has run away from her family, and Harvard, for a boy. Leaving her in a strange place, Caitlin tries to find herself in high school and dating a popular guy. I’m really reluctant to divulge any more as I don’t want to ruin it for anyone else.

Like her other books, this was a really easy read. Before I knew it, i was half way through the book. Some elements were a bit slow but the second half was really engaging. For some I imagine the second half would be more difficult for them to read because of the subject matter.

I would liked to have had more of a background on Rogerson, especially his family and for her best friend to have been fleshed out a little bit more.

Another great YA book, especially for fans of Sarah Dessen

My Rating

4-stars

5 thoughts on “Dreamland by Sarah Dessen

  1. Fantastic review! This is one of the few titles by Sarah Dessen that I haven’t read yet. I have read all of her other books though, and I so agree that they’re great remedies for reading slumps. Are you excited for her upcoming Once and For All? 🙂

    Summer

  2. Pingback: May 2017 Monthly Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

  3. Pingback: Second Quarter Quell 2017 – 3 Month Wrap Up | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books That Tackle Tough Issues | Tumbling into Wonderland Books

Leave a Reply

